RSS

Catnip for Hair

02 Oct

Several people have used Catnip in their hair with great results.  It is mainly used as a conditioner alternative.  But the “side affects” are: reduced split ends (after a while of use there are almost no splits), increased hair thickness, increased hair quantity (in some), and better hair quality all around.  It also leaves a little bit of a yellow stain, but unless you have really light or grey/white hair you probably won’t notice it much (it washes out if you don’t like it).

What you do is take 1 teaspoon of dried Catnip and put it in 1 to 1-1/2 cups of hot water.  You do not want to boil the catnip, as that will evaporate the oils that you want, you just put the catnip in the already hot water.  You place the catnip and hot water in a bowl (not metal or plastic) and cover it until it is completely cool.  You don’t want to use more catnip, as it ends up drying, which is the exact opposite of what you are trying to accomplish.

Once it is cool you take that catnip water (for lack of a better term) and carefully pour it over your hair.  You don’t want to have so much that your hair is dripping wet, but not so little that your hair is only damp.  You then bag it with either a shower cap, an actual plastic bag, or saran wrap.  You can leave it on for as long as you want, but the best results are some where between 30 minutes and an hour.

Because of my apparent sensitivity to commercial products (I discuss that HERE and HERE) I have decided to give this a try.  Being that I’ve been doing Conditioner Only (CO) the last 9 weeks I am used to soaking my hair for a while before my shower.  So this won’t be all that much different.  Of course I’ll have to prepare the catnip before hand, and it’ll be water not conditioner that I’ll be using, but the general “doing something before my shower” will be the same.

Most of the people that use catnip either use it with shampoo in place of their conditioner, or in addition to their CO routine.  But I’ll be using it in place of commercial conditioner, and without shampoo.  If I need an occasional cleanser I’ll use baking soda instead of shampoo.  But I’m hopeful that I won’t need to do that much.  I don’t mind using BS every once in a while, but it is a little to harsh (at least for me) to use it all the time.

The Long Hair Community has a topic about it HERE.  The member “ktani” has been using catnip for years and is a wealth of information.  There are lots of great tidbits throughout the pages of this thread (it’s currently at 42 pages).  If you are at all interested in trying this yourself I really recommend you read all of it.

So this is the end of Conditioner Only, and next week will be the start of the Catnip Experament.

Keep your fingers crossed that it goes well!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 2, 2008 in Catnip for Hair, Conditioner Only Hair

 

One response to “Catnip for Hair

  1. Emilia

    November 2, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    I have tried the catnip tea and it did not work. I have used (till today) every other day on clean hair and the white hair is not yellow stain at all.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

