RSS

oh so tired….

22 Jul

I woke up this morning to a strange squeaking noise.  Instantly I knew what it was, my cat Sebastian had caught a mouse.  Normally most mice will play dead and stay quiet when he catches them, but the young ones don’t know to do that.  So this one (a very small baby) was squeaking away!

Sebastian is quite good at catching mice.  He thinks it’s great fun.  I think if I was ever able to block off wherever they are getting in he would be very disappointed.

He is very good about putting them down if I ask him to (he wasn’t in the beginning, he was very possessive, but now he will drop it whenever I ask him to!).  The only problem is that this one kept running once he dropped it (again, still hadn’t learned to play dead).  So I’d ask him to drop it so I can pick it up, only to have it run right for me.  Sebastian would then chase it, and we’d start all over.

Now I have no problem with mice.  I used to have hamsters, and I don’t see much of a difference.  But when they run right for my feet I normally end up screaming and jumping out of the way.  I don’t know why.  The logical side of my brain has no problem with them, but when they are running at me….

So eventually one time when he dropped the mouse it ran up to a pet bed (but thankfully didn’t run under it), decided that snuggling up to it meant that we couldn’t see him, and I was able to pick it up.  I normally then put it in some kind of container and take it to a field several miles away, but this was 4:30 in the morning, and I didn’t feel like getting dressed just to take this mouse out.  So I ended up just putting it right outside my door.
I think that doing this ever once and a while might be a good thing.  That way the mouse can go back to all his mice buddies and tell them that this terrible cat lives in that little white house over there, and they better all stay away.

So after all that excitement I decided I didn’t quite feel like going back to sleep.  So I decided to stay up and read.  Sebastian tends to stay in the kitchen (where the mice are) after he catches one, but once he saw me carrying my book to the bedroom he quickly followed me.  Sebastian LOVES IT when I read.  He sees a book come out and he gets all excited!  So we had some nice cuddles while I read, but every once and a while he would leave to go check out the kitchen, and then come back for more cuddles.

Combining the fact that I stayed up a little bit late last night, and getting woken up at 4:30 this morning, I am very tired today.  All I want to do is sleep…..

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 22, 2008 in Cats

 

Tags: ,

One response to “oh so tired….

  1. Philllip

    June 12, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    Sebastian sees you as the alpha animal in the house. He is bringing you the mouse to eat. His gift to the leader! It would show real manners if you ate some and left the rest for him. However you could just decline the treat and give it back to Sebastian and let him eat it. He is a cat and this is what cats do. Now that you have Lola you may want to ask the Vet about the power imbalance that now exists because there are three of you.

    Once we had three dogs and more cats. Over a period of twenty years the course of nature played it- self out. There was one old fluffy black and white female cat left out of all the mixed pack. Only then could we decipher who the Alpha Animal was. It was my old (17+ years old) dog Pearl. Pearl never made a hostile move towards any of the other animals, but when she was gone the cat was the Alpha and damned happy about if. The cat had been forced to defer for far too long and now she blossomed into her own!

    Phillip

     

Leave a Reply

 
