RSS

not quite CO yet…

30 Jul

I took a shower last night and washed my hair (for the first time in 10 weeks!) with Baking Soda and Conditioner.

I didn’t use much BS, but it got my hair really clean!  I thought I would have to use a shampoo too, but the BS got my hair clean in one shot.  I think it’s to strong to use regularly, but I’ll defiantly keep it in mind if I need to really clean my hair.  It’s gentle enough to be a clarifier, but strong enough to clean up whatever you got going on with your hair.

Then I put on LOADS of conditioner (I’d say almost a cup?) and left that on while I did my other shower things (including shaving my legs) so it was on for 10 minutes?  Maybe 15?  And then I rinsed it out really well.  My hair felt like it was made of silk!  So silky and smooth!  I barely needed to use a comb or brush.  I think I could have used my fingers, that’s how untangled it was.

My hair is still really soft now that it’s dried.  The ends are a little sharp though.  I don’t know why.  I think I might have some split ends that my conditioner “glued” back together (some conditioners can do that).  So maybe that’s it.  I might try doing a little trim to take all that off.

There is this really cool method for cutting layers in your hair, called the ponytail method (I already have layers [cut by a stylist] and plan to keep them).  The idea is that you gather all your hair in a ponytail and cut it even with the “bottom” of your hair (the hair from the nape, which would be the longest when you have layers).  Where you place the ponytail determines how layered your hair ends up.  If you put a really low ponytail, you’ll barely get any layers; if you put it in the center of the back of your head you’ll get layering on the last couple inches; if you put it on top your head you’ll get layers that can go from mid-neck all the way down your length; if you put it at your front hair line (above your forehead) you’ll get layers from your ears to your ends (and more of a “U” shaped cut).  You can, of course, adjust anywhere in between these “points” to create as much or as little layering as you want.
The way this works is that the farther your “longest hair” has to travel, the more the rest of your hair becomes shorter.  So if you put the ponytail on the top of your head, or at the front hairline, your “longest hair” will travel from your nape all the way to your ponytail (and beyond), while your “shortest hair” (the hair from the top or your head) will only travel a short distance, thus creating layers.
So I think I’ll try this tonight.  When I got my hair cut last (right before WO) the stylist didn’t do a very good job.  She seemed to only know how to created layers a few inches deep.  So when I told her that I wanted the layering to come from my shoulders down to my mid-back length she kind of cut layers a few inches down from that point, and then there is this strait patch of the longer hair underneath that.  It doesn’t look that great.  But thankfully I don’t think anybody but me has noticed.
ETA:  I did it!  Read about it here.

Also when I go shopping (tonight or tomorrow) I’ll look at different conditioners.  Since I’m going to try CO I’m going to need alot of conditioner, so I’ll need to find something cheap but good (isn’t that the dilemma with everything? we want good stuff, but we don’t want to pay for it!).  I might even try “Mane and Tail” which is a conditioner meant for horses, but is supposed to work really well for people too.

Oh, before I forget the LHC thread on CO is here.

So that’s my hair update.  I think I’ll take another shower on thursday night, so expect another report on friday.  If all goes well I’ll officially start CO next week.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2008 in Conditioner Only Hair, Hair Stuff

 

Tags:

4 responses to “not quite CO yet…

  1. shantel Coelho

    October 15, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Shantel Nicole Coelho. add me on facebook if u have one lolz. um it seems like u know alot about hair and thats great because i have dark brown hair and im eventually tryin to be blonde but i was looking for caramel hair color(light,light brown) and on monday i tryed 3 bottles of hair dye from walmart that looked great but didnt do much on my hair and my hairs like really thick and up to my sholders and im only 5 feet so thats not alot but its thick. and i didnt get the result i was looking for so should i bleach my hair then try adding dye to it? or like what? Hope to hear from you soon. thanks.

     
  2. medicine joke

    August 6, 2013 at 9:48 am

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the best websites on the internet.
    I most certainly will highly recommend this blog!

     
  3. en etkili zayıflama hapı yorumları

    December 27, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    You just need to take them in limited quantity and balance the extra caloric counts with exercise.
    Over the coming weeks gradually reduce the time you spend online and eventually you’ll have a healthier lifestyle.
    If you want to make any of these exercises more challenging, simply raise the reps or sets.

     
  4. מדרגות צפות תל אביב

    January 9, 2015 at 4:01 pm

    John Wild is vice president of Absolute Access & Security.
    It’s possible you’ll even search for evaluations online.
    In certain emergency situations, the availability of an expert locksmith in Delta BC is really helpful for the
    users.

     

Leave a Reply

 
