RSS

ponytail haircut – results

31 Jul

EDIT 6.19.09 – I made a How-To with pictures (drawings really) you can find it HERE.

Last night I cut my hair with the “ponytail” method (I talk about it here).  It turned out really well!  I’ll definitly keep up with it.  My hair is now layered down my mid-back length.  The layering starts at chin length in front, and starts a little below shoulder length in the back.

I placed the ponytail at the very front edge of my hairline, and then cut strait across where my longest hair ended.  I then took it down, and realized that the back wasn’t quite U shaped anymore, so I put it back up and trimmed the blunt cut into a slight U shape.  It ended up making my hair a little more V shaped then I wanted, but I think it actually looks great.

I think next time I won’t put it quite as far forward.  I think I’ll put it about an inch back from my hairline.  That way I’ll get more layering in the back.  I think.  Or maybe that would mean less layering in the front?  I’ll have to think about it more when my brain is fully awake.  Right now thinking about it is giving me a headache.

My ends don’t feel sharp and dry anymore.  So it definitely was split ends making it feel that way.  I’ll wash it tonight and see how it ends up.  I might put it back up in the ponytail after it’s dried just to make sure my cut is still even, and that I don’t have any stragglers.  🙂

So if you want layered hair, but don’t want to go to a salon to get it, I would recommend this method.  All you really need is to be able to put your hair in a ponytail (brush it smooth, or the cut will be uneven!) and to cut a strait line.  I think most people could do that!
I also recommend that after you cut it, take it out and brush it into your regular style, and then put it back into the ponytail to check your cut.  You might find a couple hairs that aren’t even with the rest.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2008 in Hair Stuff

 

Tags:

5 responses to “ponytail haircut – results

  1. ginny

    September 9, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    i love my new haircut

     
  2. ginny

    September 9, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    your the best

     
  3. DANIELLE

    October 12, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    I was just wondering if you can send a pic of how you put the pony tail in and then cut. curious to see how it looks thanks. danielle

     
  4. Sasha

    May 29, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    I just did this, and it turned out well. Great blog! =)

     
  5. Deanna Hirst

    May 23, 2017 at 12:52 pm

    I’m doing this to mine later today, hate giving a salon money to not do what I ask. They always cut too little or too much. Thank you

     

Leave a Reply

 
