RSS

I’ve got a question for you…

20 Aug

With all the fun I’m having designing stuff on Zazzle I decided that I would try to create a pentacle using the same pictures that my Wheel of Being uses.  But I’ve come across a dilemma.  There are several ways to “assign” the elements.  Most pagan/wiccan info says that the order is (clockwise from the top)  Spirit, Water, Fire, Earth, and Air.  While other sources list them as:  Spirit, Fire, Air, Water and Earth.  Spirit is the same, so that’s not an issue, but all the others are different.
For me, personally, I would think that the order should be one of two ways:
1 – Spirit, Earth, Air, Fire, and Water;  this is similar to the wheel of being with the elements in the order they would be when assigned to directions, just pushed so that Spirit is on top.
2 – Spirit, Fire, Earth, Water, and Air;  this has them in the order of how you draw them if you start at the top and went bottom right, upper left, upper right, bottom left, and then back to the top (I think that’s the normal way to draw a pentacle, it’s how I draw mine anyway!).

So now I have four options, and I don’t know which to pick.  Part of me wants to keep with the “normal” pagan/wiccan associations, but I can’t find anywhere that lists why they are that way.  The “elemental pentacle” (the link for the second choice above) looks like the most historically accurate, but what if everyone who looks at it goes “oh well that’s wrong, they obviously don’t know anything”.

So I have a question for all of you.  How would you assign them?  If you use a pentacle, where would you assign the locations?  And why?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 20, 2008 in Pagan

 

Tags:

One response to “I’ve got a question for you…

  1. Plays In Dirt

    August 20, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    North at the top and clockwise from there so …

    Earth

    Water Spirit Air

    Fire

    That just my two cents worth 🙂

    Terra playsindirt

     

Leave a Reply

 
