RSS

if you don’t see me, my nose is probably buried in a book….

05 Sep

Part of the reason I haven’t been posting much lately is because I’ve been spending quite a bit of time reading.  I quite often have a book going, but lately most of my free time has been spent reading.

It started with the Harry Potter books.  I decided it was time to re-read through the series again.  I don’t think I’ve done that since the last book came out.  So I started pouring through those.  And boy did I ever pour through them.  The fattest book (book 5 – the order of the phoenix) only took me 2 or 3 days, and that was during the work week.

After that I read the book Eragon by Christopher Paolini.  I saw the movie several months ago, but I didn’t know it was based on a book.  As usual when I love a movie, I love the book even more.  It is perfect.  It is much like the Harry Potter books, in that it is easy enough for kids, but mature enough for adults as well.  I was surprised (pleasantly) that the movie and the book were so much alike.  Most of the time the movie version tends to stray from what is in the book from time to time, but this one is almost spot on.
This book is about a boy who finds what he thinks is a large stone in the forest one day.  He continues to think that it is just a stone until that stone starts to hatch.  He is quite surprised when a dragon falls out of that egg, and he ends up caring for this little dragon that grows very quickly.  But what he doesn’t know is that the egg was stolen from the king, and that he will stop at nothing to get it back.  After the kings assassins find out who he is he has to flee his home and try to find a safe place for him and his dragon.
Eragon is the first book in the series, I already ordered the second book Eldest, and the third book, Brisingr, is coming out this month.

The next book I read was The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan.  This is the first book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.  I LOVE this book.  It is written as if the 12 year old boy this book is about was talking.  So it is full of things that kids that age say.  But rather then making it seem childish or dull, it makes the character better and makes you understand him more.
This book is about a boy, Percy Jackson, who is a normal kid in most ways.  He is the only child of a single mother, and gets into a fair bit of trouble at school.  The result of which means that he ends up changing schools at least once a year.  Until one day he finds out that he is the son of an greek god.  That means he can do things that most other kids can’t, but it also means that evil creatures want to kill him.  He is thrown into this world he doesn’t know or understand, and he has to struggle to keep up.
I have always loved the greek gods, and this book takes those old stories and brings them into today.  I HIGHLY recommend this book!

Then I read Carolina Moon by Nora Roberts.  Again I saw the movie first, and the book did not disappoint!
Tory Bodeen is a most unusual girl.  She can see into other people’s heads.  This got her into much trouble as a child from her father who thought that those visions were from the devil, and every time she would say something that he thought was from a vision (which was quite often) he would beat her bloody.  Tory saw the rape and death of her best friend.  After she told the family exactly where to find her body, and told them what happened the night before, rumors started circling around their small town.  It was to much for her father, who quickly moved them away.
Tory, now an adult, is still haunted by the memory of her childhood friend and what happened to her that night.  After running way from that memory for years, she comes back to the town where it all happened.  She finds herself the talk of the town and finds that no one has forgotten the little girl that she was.  She is soon swept up in mystery when she finds out that the person who killed her friend has killed again.
This is a great story about a damaged girl who is ashamed of her gift, into a strong woman who embraces it.  While this is a romance book, it is mostly in a drama/mystery genre.

Now I am reading the book Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris.
Now I’m only about half way through, but I already like it.  It is about a woman, Sookie, who lives in a world where vampires have “come out of the coffin” and are now a recognized member of society.  She desperately wants to meet one, but she fears one will never come into her small town.  One day her dream comes true.  She ends up starting a very unusual relationship with him.
Like I said I’m only part way through the book, but I can’t wait to see how it ends!  There is a tv series that starts this coming week that is based on the book.  The series is called True Blood, and it airs on HBO on sunday at 8pm (central).  I can guarantee you that I’ll be watching!

Now that I’ve read over what I’ve written here, I saw that what I’ve said seems almost like what you would see on the back cover of a book.  I think I’ll make a new post catogory here on EbN called Book Reviews.  When I read a book post what I think of it!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 5, 2008 in Book Reviews, EbN Site Stuff

 

One response to “if you don’t see me, my nose is probably buried in a book….

  1. Deasy

    September 5, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Hi 🙂 I’ve also just started to reread the HP series. I’m starting on Book four soon. Found some foreshadows that I didn’t, and probably couldn’t have, spotted before, that was fun 🙂

    I also read Eragon ‘after’ watching the movie, and was interesting. I haven’t gotten around to reading the second one yet, sadly.

    The lightning thief IS an awesome book! So are the rest of the series, so I second your recommendation!! ^_^

     

Leave a Reply

 
