RSS

Catnip Experament – Week 2

13 Oct

Pre-shower:   Mixed up a Baking Soda (BS) shampoo replacement (3 tablespoons or so in 16 fl oz of warm water), and also an infusion of catnip (1 teaspoon of catnip in about 1 cup of hot water).

Routine:   Got in the shower and poured about half of the bottle of BS in my hair and mixed that around.  It actually got a little foamy, which has never happened before.  Once that was rinsed out I made sure to squeeze out as much water as I could, then I poured the catnip tea over my hair.  I put my hair up in a clip and let the catnip sit until the very end of my shower (about 5 or 10 minutes later), and then rinsed it out.

Results:   My hair felt really icky when it was wet (kind of tacky), but once it dried it was fine.  A little on the dry side maybe, but ok.  I don’t even need to brush it, all I have to do is run my fingers through it to detangle.  This morning I put a little coconut oil on it, and now it is much better, even a little bit shiny.  I might put a little more coconut oil on my hair tonight and put it up in a bun or braid for the night.

Comments:  I really like the way the BS foamed up when I used it.  I think that might be because I used warm water in the container.  Maybe the warm water activated it somehow?  I think I might try watering down my catnip a little more.  I’m wondering if it is a little to strong.  Right now I’m using about 250ml of water, so next time I think I’ll use 300ml and see how that works.  If that makes it worse I might try less water.  I think using the coconut oil on a regular basis might be a good idea too.  If the coconut oil doesn’t work out then I’ll try finding another oil.  Jojoba and olive oil could work.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2008 in Catnip for Hair

 

Leave a Reply

 
