RSS

Catnip Experiment – Week 6

10 Nov

I didn’t take a second shower last week, so the catnip for this shower was the second half of last week’s batch.

Preparation:   I made up a batch of Baking Soda.  This time I measured it.  I used 1 pint of warm water (16oz / 500ml) and 4 tablespoons of BS.

Routine:   I poured the entire batch of BS over my hair (starting at the back of the neck and moving forward) and massaged it around for a minute or two, and then rinsed it out.  After squeezing all the water out that I could I poured on the catnip (again, starting at the neck) and I left that on for maybe 10 minutes then rinsed it.

Results:   Pretty dry hair.  It’s dry, tangly, really fly-away and terrible.

Comments:   So I think I used to much BS.  I wasn’t sure how much to use, because 1- I’ve never made a single batch before (I’ve always made enough for both my showers) and 2- I’ve always poured it into an old shampoo container, which isn’t see-through, so I didn’t know exactly what it should “look like”.  So my next shower I’ll try using 2 tablespoons and seeing if that works better.
I also think that, combined with using to much, I leave it on for too long.  It’s starting to irritate my scalp (and I’m starting to get flakes again).  So on my next shower I’m going to try just poring it on, making sure it gets everywhere, and rinsing it out.  Keeping the on-my-head time to about 10 to 20 seconds.  I have been working it around for several minutes, and I think that’s too long and dries it out to much.

Just as an FYI:  my hair is always a little on the dry side, with lots of fly-aways, during the winter months.  No where near as bad as it is this week, but “poofy” hair is kind of normal for me once it gets cold.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 10, 2008 in Catnip for Hair

 

Leave a Reply

 
