RSS

Catnip Experiment – Week 8

24 Nov

I didn’t take a shower last wednesday (I totally forgot until it was time for bed), but I did make the catnip for wednesday, so I just stored that in the fridge until yesterday.  I don’t know if I’m going to keep trying to take two showers a week or if I’m going to just go down to one.  I guess I’ll play that one by ear.

Preperation:  I used wednesday’s batch of catnip (1 tsp in 300ml of water), but I warmed it up in the microwave before hand because it was really cold from being in the fridge.  And I made up a baking soda (BS) mix right before my shower.  This time I used 2 tsp in 500ml of warm water.  The warm water pretty much disintegrates the BS so it just looks like cloudy water, but it does seem to work much better when I use warm water.

Routine:   I poured the BS on my hair starting at the back of my head and working forward.  It got pretty “foamy”.  It’s not like regular shampoo gets foamy, but it does change.  I only left it on long enough to make sure that I got it everywhere and then I rinsed it out really good and squeezed out as much water as I could.  Then I poured the catnip on my hair, again starting in the back.  I didn’t leave it on very long, 5 minutes or less, and then I rinsed it out.

Results:   Great hair!  My hair is silky, smooth, tangle free and great!  My ends are a little dry (I have lots of split ends for some reason) but the bulk of my hair is awesome!  There aren’t a lot of fly-aways and I didn’t even have to use coconut oil (although I’m sure it would get even better if I did).

Comments:   I don’t know exactly why yesterday’s shower got such good results, but I’ll take them!  I’m thinking there could be several reasons why I got such good results:  1- using the lower amount of BS and/or using warm water.  2- leaving the catnip on for less time.  3- the catnip gets better results if it has been stored in the fridge for a couple days.  4- heating the catnip before hand.
I’ll try to duplicate these results my next shower.  The only thing I’ll change is making the catnip the morning of my shower and not storing it in the fridge and then warming it up.  If I don’t get the same results then I know I have to make some ahead of time and keep it in the fridge.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 24, 2008 in Catnip for Hair

 

Leave a Reply

 
