RSS

Lola update

20 Mar

Lola is doing much better.  She spent several days sleeping and not eating very much, but now she is eating like normal and is back to playing with toys.  Which I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not.  It’s good because it means she’s feeling better, and I don’t want her to be sick.  But I got really used to her just lounging around all day.  Now this energy and exuberance is kind of hard to get used to again.  Not that she’s bouncing off the walls or anything, but it’s still a big difference.

She has been really good about her stitches (actually I think it’s just one stitch).  I’ve even been able to leave the wrapping off of it when she’s inside the house.  Occasionally I see her lightly licking it, but as soon as I scold her she stops.  The only time I wrap it now is when we go outside to play because the yard is kind of muddy.  Every time I bandage it up she acts like her leg is about to fall off!  She could be running and jumping moments before, but put that bandage on and she forgets how to walk.  😛  But once we get outside and she gets to run around she forgets all about it and starts walking like normal (and before anybody says it, I know she’s not supposed to run around with stitches, but she’s either going to run inside or outside, so I’d rather it be outside).
And I do put the cone collar on her when I go to bed at night.  Everytime I get it out she looks at me with those big puppy eyes and I feel like a really mean mommy, but it’s better then her chewing at it and hurting herself more.

She still acts like her but hurts her when she goes to the bathroom.  I think I’ll have the vet look at it when we go in to have her stitch taken out on monday.

So overall she is doing much better.  After monday I hope not to see the vet again until she needs her shots.

Keep your fingers crossed!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 20, 2009 in Dogs

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
